Texas Rangers are going to the 2023 MLB World Series

The Rangers defeated the Houston Astros in the all-Texas American League Championship Series for a third World Series appearance in franchise history.


The Rangers are headed to the MLB World Series for the first time since 2011.

Photo by Kelly Mazade

Table of Contents

The Texas Rangers are headed to the MLB World Series for the first time since 2011.

Last night, the Rangers defeated the Houston Astros 11-4 in Game 7 at Minute Maid Park in Houston to clinch the American League spot in the finals.

They will face the winner of the National League Championship Series — either the Arizona Diamondbacks or the Philadelphia Phillies — in Game 1 of the World Series on Friday, Oct. 27 at 6 p.m. The Rangers will have home-field advantage for Games 1, 2, 6 + 7 (if necessary). Splurge on tickets or catch the game on FOX.

The Rangers are the oldest MLB team to never win a World Series. Although they have made two World Series appearances, they have a 62-season championship drought — second only to the Cleveland Guardians.

In 2010, the Rangers made their first World Series appearance, but the team fell to the San Francisco Giants in five games.

Riding high on their 2010 American League Championship win, the Rangers got to the World Series again in 2011 — this time falling to the St. Louis Cardinals in seven games.


Will Nolan Ryan finally see a Commissioner’s Trophy for his team?

Photo by FTWtoday

Looking back

The MLB team was established in 1961 as the second incarnation of the Washington Senators — an expansion team awarded to Washington DC — after the old Senators team became the Minnesota Twins. In 1972, the team moved to Arlington where it became known as the Texas Rangers.

Perhaps the most famous Rangers player of all time is current part-owner Nolan Ryan, who threw 5,714 strikeouts and seven no-hitters in his 27-year major league career. And yet, when he retired in 1993, the team still hadn’t seen the playoffs.

In 1996, their luck changed and they have since made eight post-season appearances. For the first time in franchise history, they could be holding the coveted Commissioner’s Trophy.

More from FTWtoday