FTWtoday City Guide Play Banner

Your guide to sports in Fort Worth

From the TCU Horned Frogs to the Texas Rattlers, we’re sharing all details of Fort Worth’s sports teams.

FTWtoday - TCU Stadium

Who’s ready for Saturday games at Amon G. Carter Stadium? | TCU Athletics

Table of Contents

Whether you’re a sports fanatic — or just look good in purple — when it comes to sports, Fort Worth has no shortage of teams to support.

In this guide, we’ve rounded up everything you need to know about Fort Worth sports, so whether you’re already a devoted sports fan or you’re new to the area, we hope it can serve as a valuable resource.

TCU-Fiesta Bowl-JAN

TCU beats Michigan 51-45 in the Fiesta Bowl.

Photo by TCU Athletics

🏈 TCU Football (NCAA) | Est. 1896

TCU Football joined the Big 12 Conference in 2012 and was previously part of the Mountain West Conference. Earlier this year, head coach Sonny Dykes gave the university national fame by leading the team to their first College Football Playoff berth.

Where they play: Amon G. Carter Stadium

  • Max capacity: 45,000
  • The highest ever recorded attendance at Amon G. Carter was 50,307, which occurred in 2009 against The University of Utah.

Mascot: Horned Frog

  • The Horned Frog was the original name of the university’s yearbook and the school later adopted the official mascot in 1897.
  • TCU has featured the costumed mascot on the sideline of football games since the 1930s.

Team colors: Purple and white

  • Purple represents royalty and white represents a clean game.
  • Shop for merch.

Major accomplishments:

  • Davey O’Brien is the school’s only Heisman Trophy winner.
  • There have been six Heisman finalists, including quarterback Max Duggan in 2022.
  • The team made history during the 2022-2023 season as Texas’ first team to attend the College Football Playoff (CFP) and earn an invite to the National Championship.
  • Max Duggan is the first TCU quarterback to receive the Davey O‘Brien Award.

📅 See the team’s schedule

Texas Wesleyan stadium renderings

Rendering of the proposed football stadium | Rendering via Texas Wesleyan University

🏈 TXWES Football (NAIA) | Est. 1934

The Rams football program began in the 1930s and the team won its first conference co-championship in 1941. World War II signaled the program’s suspension, as many of Texas Wesleyan’s men served in the US Armed Forces. Following a 75-year hiatus, Texas Wesleyan returned to the field in the fall of 2017 as part of the Sooner Athletic Conference (SAC).

Where they play: Farrington Field

  • Farrington Field is located in the heart of the Cultural District and was built in 1939.
  • The university is currently building a new $16 million football stadium, which will open later this year.

Mascot: Ram

  • The school’s first official mascot was a parrot and was changed to a panther in 1911 after the city’s nickname.
  • The school adopted the ram as its official mascot in 1934.
  • There were once two live rams on campus that made appearances in the gym, in parades, and even the Stock Show and Rodeo, but due to liability issues, they were no longer allowed in campus activities.

Team colors: Navy and gold

Major accomplishments:

  • In 2022, just five years after returning to the turf, the Rams won their first conference championship since 1941.
  • The Rams’ 9-2 finish in 2022 is the best season since its return to Polytechnic Heights in 2018.

📅 See the team’s schedule

The Prowlers will play their very first game this Saturday | Photo via @panthercitylax

The Prowlers will play their very first game this Saturday | Photo via @panthercitylax

🥍 Panther City Lacrosse (NLL) | Est. 2021

The National Lacrosse League re-launched in 2021 after a one-year suspension during the pandemic. North Texas’ previous MLL team was the Dallas Rattlers but the team ceased operations after the 2019 season. During their inaugural season in 2021, Panther City Lacrosse Club finished just shy of the playoffs.

Where they play: Dickies Arena

  • The entertainment venue is the city’s newest arena, opening to the public on October 26, 2019.
  • The multi-purpose stadium holds 14,000 seats and the construction cost was $540 million.

Mascot: Prowler

  • The team also has a less-than-intimating version of their mascot, nicknamed Lil’ Prowl.

Team colors: Black, maroon, gray, and purple

Major accomplishments:

  • The team ended the 2022 season with a record of 7 wins and 11 losses and finished fifth in the NLL’s Western Division.
  • The Panthers scored 190 goals and surrendered 223 during the 2022 season.

📅 See the team’s schedule.

FTW-Ariat Texas Rattlers

The second day of PBR Teams event in Anaheim, CA. | Photo by Andy Watson / Bull Stock Media

Andy Watson

🐂 Ariat Texas Rattlers (PBR) | Est. 2022

The Texas Rattlers are Fort Worth’s first-ever professional bull riding team owned by the Fisher Family. The team is sponsored by Ariat footwear company and is part of the Professional Bull Riders (PBR) Team Series League.

Where they play: Dickies Arena

  • The Professional Bull Riders World Finals officially moved to Dickies Arena in 2022 after decades in Las Vegas.

Mascot: Rattlers

  • Named after the venous desert reptile, the rattlesnake.

Team colors: Black and gold

Major accomplishments:

  • During their inaugural 2022 season, the team finished the regular season with a 16-12 record.
  • The Rattlers earned one of two coveted byes into the Teams Championship in Las Vegas.

📅 See the team’s schedule.

FTW-W.O. Barnes Stadium

The stadium is owned by Castleberry Independent School District. | Photo courtesy of WRA Architects

Fort Worth Vaqueros (NPSL) | Est. 2014

The amateur soccer league plays in the National Premier Soccer League (NPSL) in the Lone Star Conference of the South Region. The Vaqueros just completed their 9th season in the NPSL in 2022 under coach Tony Merola.

In 2015, Vaqueros owner Michael Hitchcock and the newly formed Legend Football Partners acquired Alfreton Town F.C. and formed a partnership with the English club. The partnership created an avenue for player sharing, cross-marketing, international matches, and pre-season training in both countries.

Where they play: W.O. Barnes Stadium

  • The stadium holds 4,000 seats and is owned by Castleberry Independent School District.
  • The team played its inaugural season at the historic LaGrave Field but relocated in 2015.
  • In the first home game, the team played in front of 2,000 fans.

Mascot: Vaqueros

  • The official name and logo were chosen by residents and fans on March 20, 2014.
  • Vaquero is the Spanish word for cowboy.

Team colors: Blue and yellow

Major accomplishments:

  • The Vaqueros won the Lone Star Conference Regular Season Championship in 2017.
  • In 2019, the team won the Trinity River Cup Championship, Chisholm Trail Clásico Championship, and Lone Star Conference Championship.

📅 See the team’s schedule.

FTWtoday phone
Good news for Fort Worth.
Get the best local news & events sent to your inbox each morning, for free.